jump to navigation

This Ranks Up There September 3, 2008

Posted by amberpeace in living as a 20-something.
trackback

I’m not exactly sure what the stupidest thing I’ve ever done is. However, it might be my current phone situation.

Yesterday evening, I went to my bag to get my phone. Not there. 

Or purse. or pockets. or bedroom, car, jana’s townhouse, library, or student lounge that I was in yesterday.

My phone was not turned in to anyone in the offices. And my phone was not at the post office – the only place off campus I went yesterday.

You have to understand how tiny my school is. There is a chance that some people who read this blog own more land than my entire campus sits on. We have one building for everything. We’re small. So either my phone has been stolen (not likely) or I accidentially put it in the box that I shipped off yesterday afternoon.

To Canada

My phone is on it’s way to Canada. Vancouver to be precise. Thankfully, the person on the other end is a friend – not a stranger. So if it’s in there, it might get shipped back to me. Or customs can get angry for me not listing the phone and confiscate it – because that’s how our customs rolls. I might be trying to blow them up with my phone. 

So none of my friends have a way to call me, or I them. None of my family does either. In one way this is liberating from the phone calls I hate answering and in another it’s very frustrating for the calls I need to take. I do see the irony in the fact that my parents can’t call and yell at me for losing the phone so horribly. My stepfather is going to have to suspend my phone number until it is found or a new one is purchased. I think just getting a new one would be the easiest solution here.

But maybe my phone will turn up somewhere. This morning while I was praying to Christ, St Anthony, The Blessed Mother and everyone else I could think of, I was angry and about to cry. I was trying to figure out what I had done wrong for my phone to go missing. I even asked myself what sin I committed. I tried to categorize “losing one’s phone” into it’s appropriate category of sin. I couldn’t think of one.

That’s what I’m taking away from this. Sometimes, something wrong is not necessarily a sin. It’s also why I’m less concerned if I get in trouble for losing my phone, now. What transgression did I commit? Not laziness. Not anger. Not selfishness, pride, greed, or disobedience. I simply forgot. I have a terrible memory. It’s debilitating. I’ve had this phone since December and this is the first time something major has happened with it. That’s outstanding for me. 

 

As a smart security measure, I’m going to go ask the post office if I can recall my package.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

