jump to navigation

This is where you’re caught up June 12, 2008

Posted by amberpeace in family.
trackback

Troy Morris and I have a thing where we send each other items and describe it in two sentances only. I forgot the last part of the deal AND my camera is acting up. So I have to ask for you to humor me. Troy sent me an envelope filled with cat hair. Yeah. Eww. He wrote that it was all from brushing his cat on Sunday (seriously, this was a ton of hair), but not to worry. His lungs are safe.

The car is fixable, thanks for asking. Not only can it be fixed, but it can be fixed for just under $600. It will leave me with nothing to put in the bank, but I’m grateful I can get my car back and drive it for a bit longer. The next near death experience will probably get it sent to the junk – yard. This is just a warning, car. Now Whitney can haver her little honda -thingy back that looks like a Geo Tracker and perhaps my budget for gas can actually last a week.

All the catastrophies this year involving my car and my health have lined up nicely with my vaction plans that involve treking across the country to Bushnell, IL. We leave in 17 1/2 days. I’m glad I only need to pay for gas and not food or liquid or maybe flair…oh wait. Mary and I currently debating taking a cooler or making a zeer pot. I am all about the zeer pot, because it’s pretty inexpensive to make and water is free from the pump. Spend here in knoxville what we would on one bag of ice there. Mary wants to take the cooler and use ice because, well because she’s 16. What average 16 year old girl wants to make a zeer pot? The next two weeks is going to involve lurking around Big Lots and UGO waiting for electrolyt drinks such as Propel to go on sale for 60 cents a bottle. We buy canned tomatoes and lots and LOTS of pasta. The most amusing side advantage to this trip is watching my sister (and now sisters) eat food they don’t like. I buy food that is healthy and keeps well in hot heat. This doesn’t particularly jive with their idea of food. So after about the first 24 hours of going hungry, Mary will start to eat. I could see Katie trying to hold out longer, but she’ll quickly learn that you can’t do that in a high heat – semi high humidity situation.

There is plenty of advice out there for staying cool and safe in high heat, low humidity camping situations. I’m having a difficult time finding high humidty + heat situations. Any site suggestions, or tips of your own?

Comments»

1. sandrar - September 10, 2009

Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.


Leave a Reply

