jump to navigation

This is not suprising June 2, 2008

Posted by amberpeace in living as a student.
trackback

     Driving to work Friday, I came to the first main intersection of the day. Lalalala. Light go green! I press the gas and…it sluggishly pulls away. Oh, good. This is exactly what I need, a car that doesn’t work. I mean, it’s not like I live 30 miles from my work location and there is no one to carpool with.

     I continue to work and at ever stop and stoplight, the same story. The green “S” light has also came on. I pull into a spot at work and fret for the next little bit on what to do. If I take my car to my mechanic, how am I going to get back to work? After a few calls, my friend Tiffany agrees to pick me up from the mechanic. It is walkable distance, but like, an hour walkable distance and walking alone through homeless distract walkable distance.

     I spend the day fretting some more, afraid to hear the dreaded “T” word. You know what I’m talking about. If you haven’t figured out anyting from this blog you should have figured out that I am BROKE. All computer use is by the grace of God and a desk job. The mechanic closes at 5pm and I get a call at 4:45. My car is ready. After a few more calls, Tiffany picks me up and I arrive at the mechanic. He tells me that the transmission fluid is fine, my brake fluid was low, but my spark plugs had to be changed. This is odd, because I had just had my major tune up in November. Spark plugs should not have to be changed that often. $78 for the check up. That’s pretty splendid, if I do say so myself. I pull away. Lalala.

     When hitting Alcoa Hwy, my “check engine” light comes on. I panic momentarily, but remind myself the “check engine” light is the most useless light on a car. They probably jiggled a wire the wrong way. Lalala. My car is fine all weekend – up until Sunday evening. I go to pick up my sisters from work at the Zoo and when I come to the fairground’s stop sign, it does the sluggish thing again and the “S” light comes on. Oh dear. I turn the car off. I wait a moment. I start the car. I go to pull out of park AND I CAN’T. Panic. I turn the car off. I think for a moment. I put my key into the shift lock release and move my car to neutral (I bet no one though I knew that!) and then start my car. I can move to drive! I get the girls and explain to them my car situation. We take Magnolia and do plenty of staring at stoplights, daring them to turn red. Luckily almost all stops on the way home are able to be rolling.

     Monday morning, today, I took my car back to the mechanic. I had left a voicemail for them last night explaining the situation and that I would be there first thing in the morning. The mechanic that is going to be working on my car test drove it with me in it. I learned that my car currently hates D4 and D1 but is perfectly content in D3 and D2. He then told me that my transmission is in “limp-in” mode. They are going to run some tests on it today and decided on what’s wrong. It could be a minor problem. It could need a new transmission.

     And that’s the problem right there. If it needs a new transmission, that’s the end of the car. I’ll have to sell the car at, oh, CarMax, and take the cash. I can’t buy anything on lot because I can’t have a monthly car payment. At all. Unless someone knows of a place where I can get a $10 a month car payment. Right. Anyone have a car to sell for $1000 (and can stand a commute from Walland)?

*update* Transmission. Need new car definitely now.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

