jump to navigation

From the irritable Religious Studies Major March 25, 2008

Posted by amberpeace in Uncategorized.
trackback

Dear Over-Critical Parishners,

Guess why, my dears, you can’t do better. I thought I should get that out of the way. I didn’t realize that everyone in the congregation spent their entire week preparing a sermon and worrying and praying over it. No clue. Actually, I’m almost positive you spent more time this week, month, entire Lent planning your Easter brunch and coordinating Easter outfits than you did reading your Scriptures. Awesome!

The truth is that his sermon did make perfect sense for Easter and no he wasn’t disrespectful to Jesus. This, among other reasons, is why I am not a priest. I’m sure he has much tougher skin than I do, and so he really doesn’t care that you were unhappy with his sermon. I have a feeling that the opinion of the choir matters little to our dear priest. Perhaps if you were not all constantly complaining about the sermons, the music, and the children smiling you might really be able to listen to what the priest has to say and apply it to your own personal situation.

And don’t ask me to join in on your criticism. I was pretty even and diplomatic in my answer this time around. Next time, I’ll ask you to prepare a sermon for me to assess.

Blessings,
The Irritable Reigious Studies Major

Comments»

1. Libby - March 25, 2008

Oh dear, over-critical parishioners do sometimes seem to miss the entire point, don’t they? Next time you should just smile sweetly and remind them that Jesus loves everyone.

2. Amber Lee - March 25, 2008

I was proud of myself for just being able to comment that I feel uncomfortable completely writing off one of our priests sermons after knowing how much work they put into it.


Leave a Reply

