jump to navigation

Dead Car August 12, 2007

Posted by amberpeace in Uncategorized.
trackback

And now my car is dead.
After buying new spark plugs, new distributor cap, new battery, AND a new alternator, the answer is that there is a wiring problem with the clunker. The car was bought seven years ago for $500 dollars. Truely, it should not have lasted as long as it did. Truely, it shouldn’t have lasted a year. The car defied odds and lasted long enough for me to have it for one summer.

I should mention here that I’ve never owned my own car. I am 22 years old and went through high school without being able to drive and college without a car. This, regardless of the fact that I can’t afford a bike, was still completely humilating to me. When I came to Knoxville for the summer, I was overjoyed to have a car that I could just get in and drive away.

So now I have spent $200 dollars and after that I am now on the search for a new car – for $800 dollars. My searching is confined to Facebook Marketplace, the newspaper, Craigslist, and the delusional hope that someone might possibly give me a decent car for less than $1000 because they once were a desperate young adult in a town unfriendly to pedestrians.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

