jump to navigation

Public nudity is never old May 2, 2007

Posted by amberpeace in Uncategorized.
trackback

Since it’s the last week of school, everyone who wants to finally prove their worth is – the Buff Run has been in full swing this week. The Milligan College Buff Run is, simply put, running nekkid. There are three legs to the race.

Webb Hall (men’s dormitory) to Hyder House (about 100 ft away) and back.
Webb Hall to Hyder Auditorium (about 300 ft) and back.
Webb Hall to the Post Office (about 600ft) but not back.

It is, for obvious reasons, traditionally a race done by the men of Milligan. However, I know for a fact that two girls will be stepping up this week. The added thrill for the women is that there is no girl version, so you have to start on Webb porch, like the rest. Only three girls have done the Buff Run, as far as I know. It’s not a school approved tradition, but what good tradition is? You don’t get anything but bragging rights for the rest of your life.

Creeking is also happening at all hours of the day.

Creeking: Where an engaged girl or boy is kidnapped by her/his friends of the same sex, tied up, paraded around campus loudly in the back of a truck, and then thrown into Buffalo Creek. Said wet person must then walk up the hill back to their dormitory soaking wet.

With Buff running and Creeking and most of the participants friends of mine, I know that graduation is upon me. I am not ready to go! When am I going to experience sleep deprivation in the name of studying English Gothic Architecture ever again? My wardrobe is going to shrink by more than half, since the clothing was never really mine to begin with and suddenly I have no professor offices to go sit and and read from their libraries.

I know I look forward to new adventures, a hot summer full of concerts, and meeting new people; this week, though, I’m sad and anxious. I simply want to chain myself to the Faculty Office Building.

Comments»

1. Monogram Momma - May 3, 2007

I am LOL at your vivid description of “creeking,” Amber Lee! That’s what happened to the fraternity boys at Auburn when they would lavalier, pin, or become engaged to their sorority girlfriend! Good time, good times….


Leave a Reply

