jump to navigation

Excuse me while I become antisocial. March 13, 2007

Posted by amberpeace in Uncategorized.
trackback

The month: March
The game: Madness

I know that many of you who read this blog are are Football/American Football/Gridiron fans.
Unless you’re one of those who are coming from random places in England, then I assume you’re a football/cricket fan
And then for all of you coming from NZ/OZ/India, I KNOW you’re cricket fans.

If you want to get me interested in a conversation about sports, you have to bring up one of three things: long-distance running, rugby, or basketball.

Now don’t get me wrong, I quite like soccer/football (seriously writing to an international + American audience requires a lot of slashes) and I can watch a game of cricket, polo, or field hockey. But those three above are my absolute favourites. This puts me at a disadvantage, living in the SEC, specifically Tennessee. I just don’t like gridiron. I find it boring and I hate all the halting. Running is considered more of a pastime than a sport and people just look at me funny when I say I like rugby.

So my one sport I have left is basketball. I love it; basketball is fast, aggressive, and there is no padding. The less equipment a sport has, the more I enjoy it, the idea of athletics is the idea of bodies vs bodies.

My love of basketball is going to leave me with a very lacking social life the next couple of weekends. I won’t watch every game, but I will schedule quite a few of them. My bracket, I believe, is probably not what many people have. Maybe, I’m not sure. I spent two days putting it together.

16 Jackson St
1 Florida
Florida
Purdue
Florida
Maryland
Florida
Wisconsin
UNC
BC
UNC
USC
UNC
Marquette
E Kentucky 16
UNC 1
9 Purdue
8 Arizona
MSU 9
Marquette 8
12 Old Dominion
5 Butler
Butler
Maryland
USC
Texas
Arkansas 12
USC 5
13 Davidson
4 Maryland
NM St 13
Texas 4
11 Winthrop
6 Notre Dame
Notre Dame
Oregon
Oregon
Wisconsin
Vanderbilt
BC
Vanderbilt
Washington St
GWU 11
Vanderbilt 6
14 Miami OH
3 Oregon
Oral Roberts 14
Washington St 3
10 Ga Tech
7 UNLV
Ga Tech
Wisconsin
BC
Georgetown
Texas Tech 10
BC 7
15 Tex A&M CC
2 Wisconsin
Belmont 15
Georgetown 2

16 Play-in Team
1 Kansas
Kansas
Villanova
Kansas
SIU
SIU
VCU
Ohio St
Nevada
Ohio St
Tennessee
Ohio St
Xavier
Cent Conn 16
Ohio St 1
9 Villanova
8 Kentucky
Xavier 9
BYU 8
12 Illinois
5 Va Tech
Va Tech
SIU
Tennessee
Virginia
Long Beach St 12
Tennessee 5
13 Holy Cross
4 SIU
Albany 13
Virginia 4
11 VCU
6 Duke
VCU
Pitt
VCU
Gonzaga
Texas A&M
Nevada
Louisville
Texas A&M
Stanford 11
Louisville 6
14 Wright St
3 Pitt
Penn 14
Texas A&M 3
10 Gonzaga
7 Indiana
Gonzaga
UCLA
Nevada
Memphis
Creighton 10
Nevada 7
15 Weber St
2 UCLA
N Texas 15
Memphis 2

11 VCU
2 Wisconsin
2 Wisconsin 75
1 Ohio St 78
1 UNC
1 Ohio St

I promise Aaron, I didn’t even pay attention to ESPN, the outcome was my own decision 😉

Comments»

1. Lea - March 13, 2007

I too, am a huge basketball fan. I live in the heart of the ACC and March Madness is among us.

Since I can remember, I have been a UNC fan and even married a UNC graduate.

The business world should stop during the NCAA Tourney because work gets in my way!

2. spymum - March 14, 2007

A mad cricket fan, I’m afraid! But the rugby sixes is on, and i have been watching that as well – some of the guys are quite hunky!


Leave a Reply

