jump to navigation

Nuns and Black and White Outfits. But Not Together. February 6, 2007

Posted by amberpeace in Uncategorized.
trackback

Have you ever found yourself in a position that you were so stunned that you couldn’t figure out what to say? This afternoon in my Christ and Culture class, we watched the BBC documentary of Mother Teresa when she was in her fifties. Now, there is a girl in my class that is very set against the monastic life. She feels that it is contrary to being a Christian. Her biggest complaint was that they “hide themselves from the world.” If you know about monks and nuns, that’s far from the truth, but whatever. So I thought, wrongly, that surely she would like Mother Teresa because she definitely was out there with the poor. Wrong
As soon as the movie was over, she pointed out that Mother Teresa has critics (this is very true) who said that basically her work in Calcutta was pointless because the people are still poor.

I’m not sure if the girl is getting the point. I’m really not.

But she spent a few moments lambasting Blessed Mother Teresa and I was so shocked and angry, I couldn’t say anything for the rest of the class discussion. Dr Kennesson pointed out that Mother Teresa didn’t say she felt called to lift everyone out of poverty, she felt called to love people individually and see Christ in them.

In less deep news, the Junior/Senior Banquet has been announced. I’ve been excited because I finally decided to wear a dress that’s not black to a formal. I’ve always worn a black dress. I have a gorgeous light yellow dress. Then, they go and announce that it’s a black and white formal and while we can wear what we want, black and white is preferred. Thanks. I submit to you readers a challenge: find me a dress to wear to a black and white formal (silver can also be included in this because I don’t like gold) that is $150 or less. I will also take hand-me downs and loans. So if you think you have a dress I could use, email me and I’ll tell you my size.

Comments»

1. Anonymous - February 8, 2007

I HAVE TONS OF DRESSES YOU CAN BORROW IN ALL SIZES! LET ME KNOW AND I WILL TAKE PICS AND DROP IT IN THE MAIL!!!
Lurr


Leave a Reply

