jump to navigation

An afternoon thought January 23, 2007

Posted by amberpeace in Uncategorized.
trackback

Arise at 6am
Start running at 6:30
Check temperature at 7:30
It’s 32 degrees F

Check for Coach’s email at 2:20pm
2 x milligan mile 3 min rest warm up and cool down
Check temperature
36 degrees and it feels like 30

People don’t run because its fun. Ask any runner, most of them hate it, but they couldn’t imagine their life without it. It’s part of them, the Hate/love relationship. its what they live for. They live for the practices, parties, workouts, long bus rides, invitationals, countless pairs of different types of shoes, water, Gatorade, and coaches you hate but appreciate. They live for the way it feels when you beat the team next to you by 1 second at the line, and you know those 2 extra sprints you ran in practice were worth it. They live for the way you become a family with your team, they live for the countless songs you sing in your head when your running ALL those workouts. They live for the competition, they live for the friends, the practices, the memories, the pain, its who they are. It’s who we are.

Comments»

1. Aaron - January 25, 2007

hey … I run because it’s fun. That’s why I don’t train for races, though, because when my every thought becomes “faster faster faster” then it stops being fun.

running is therapy for me . . . but then there is no scholy tied to my running.

2. Amber Lee - January 25, 2007

Yeah, when I train for the sake of just morning runs, that’s when it’s my therepy…but it’s therapy in a different way during competition as well. When I go to practice it gives me the opportunity to leave all my drama and baggage at the gate and just take it all out on the track. It’s definitely a love/hate relationship. Either I’m loving my training or giving my coach the “death stare” (I have no idea what this look is, but I’ve been told by several people that I have it)


Leave a Reply

